Interview #1 – Kristi

How old are you?

22

How old were you when you first started watching Friends?

I used to watch it with my mom when I was about 5 or 6, but I’m not sure if I really followed half of what was going on in the show. But, by the time I was about 8, me and all of my friends got really into it and we used to go to each other’s houses just to watch it.

Do you own any of the seasons?

Yes. I have seasons 1, 2, and 3 at home. I don’t really watch the DVD’s though since Nick-At-Nite has Friends on every night from 11:30-12:30, so I usually just TiVo it. I watch it pretty much every day. I am so happy that Nick-At-Nite aired it again. It only used to play on TBS I think.

You probably didn’t catch any of the themes of the show when you were younger, but as an adult, what do you think the writers stress throughout the series?

Well, they definitely stress being with a person that you love and being realistic about relationships meaning that if you don’t see the relationship leading anywhere, then there’s no point in dating them. You see this clearly with the rollercoaster of a ride in the romance between Ross and Rachel. Joey is an example of this too. He goes through girls like water, nothing ever comes of it. Later in the season, joey wants to settle down because he realizes that meaningless relationships aren’t all that great. You also definitely see this with Rachel. In season 1, her parents spent a ton of money on her wedding and she literally decided that Barry was not the right person the morning of her wedding.  Rachel also warns her sister Amy that it is not right to marry a man just because of his money. Even with Monica, She was completely in love with Richard. But, she couldn’t marry him because he didn’t fully have his heart in having more kids since he was so much older than her.  I barely have to explain Ross’ love situation and how it is important to marry for love. He went through so many wives.

I also realize that the show was all for gay marriage way before it’s time.  Maybe it was because I was young when I first saw the show, but I was old enough to realize that you don’t see two women get married and raise kids on television every day.

Why do you think that Nick-At-Nite decided to air again?

I just think it was perfect timing. People our age were in a craze about how the station was playing shows from when we were kids and shows that we talk about all the time because we miss them, like Rocco’s Modern Life, Doug, and Whose Afraid of the Dark. So they probably figured while we have this age group enticed, we can put Friends on since they had a very high rating at the time.

Leave a Reply

